Bjørn Melhus &

SUGAR

In an undetermined future, on a planet Earth that has almost become uninhabitable; human’s leading role has been occupied by hyper-advanced AI technologies. Animal life has nearly gone extinct, with a few exceptions, including some remaining humans who have undergone a backward evolution, intellectually and sensorially devolving to the point of becoming complete servants of consumerism. The HONs (Human Organism Normal) have lost their social and intellectual abilities. They are gradually transforming into carbon-based extensions of the digital cloud due to the excessive exposure to mass media, the Internet, social media, and overconsumption. Unable to survive interdependently in a community, they remain in isolation in underground facilities similar to concept stores.
SUGAR, a discontinued model of the first AC (Artificial Consciousness) robots generation, embarks on a quest to restore humans' damaged cognitive abilities. The encounter with a HON (embodied by Bjørn Melhus) reveals the extent of the human mind’s decay: the spirited creature’s habits and monologue (sentences repeated in a daunting loop) replicate the frequent oversharing of unelaborated thoughts and feelings that is typical of social media communication, while also emphasizing the all-embracing control achieved by AI. With its captivating narrative and its anxiety-inducing monologue, the work intentionally challenges our ability to stay focused. It does so by replicating the unrest one may experience as a result of scrolling down too many feeds, posts, and updates on the cellphone screen.
Exhausted by the failed attempts to restore the HON’s social abilities, SUGAR finally exits the bunker and walks on the surface of the planet among the debris and ruins of a past world, of extinguished animal and vegetal life. Rests of bleached corals in the underground units are in communication with the sponge-like creatures living on the planet's surface; they seem to charge SUGAR through the emanation of electrical spores or impulses. The structure, reminiscent of a mushroom’s network, hints to a possible interdependent evolution between AI technology, the remaining forms of life on the planet, and other cosmic forces. With this association, the work takes distance from anthropocentric positions by suggesting that, despite climate breakdown and the sixth extinction underway, humans are but one chapter of life itself, which will find ways to adapt and evolve with or without us. (Vanina Saracino)

Images: Bjørn Melhus, SUGAR, 2020 © Bjørn Melhus & VG Bild-Kunst

About the Artist

Bjørn Melhus * 1966 in Kirchheim/Teck, GER, lives and works in Berlin, GER. Studied at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig, GER, and California Institute of the Arts, Santa Clarita, USA
Websites

About the Work

Length 00:20:30

More Artists

Paula Ábalos &
Diarios de trabajos (Work Diaries)
Tekla Aslanishvili &
Scenes from Trial and Error
Cooper Battersby &
Emily Vey Duke &
Civil Twilight at the Vernal Equinox
Eliane Esther Bots &
Cloud Forest
Viktor Brim &
Dark Matter
Adam Castle &
Lupi Lupi Lu
Eli Cortiñas &
Walls Have Feelings
Mouaad el Salem &
This day won't last
Mahdi Fleifel &
3 Logical Exits
Ellie Ga &
Gyres 1-3
Beatrice Gibson &
Deux Soeurs Qui Ne Sont Pas Soeurs (Two Sisters Who Are Not Sisters)
Russel Hlongwane &
Ifu Elimnyama (The Dark Cloud)
Heidrun Holzfeind &
the time is now.
Che-Yu Hsu &
副本人 (Single Copy)
Sohrab Hura &
Bittersweet
Ida Kammerloch &
Resusci Anne
Michael Klein &
Sasha Pirker &
60 Elephants. Episodes of a Theory
Michelle-Marie Letelier &
Outline for The Bonding
Dana Levy &
Last Man
Anne Linke &
Pigeons and Architecture
Lukas Marxt &
Michael Petri &
Ralfs Farben_Hüllenwerk (Ralf's Colors_Shell Works)
Bjørn Melhus &
SUGAR
Ana María Millán &
Elevación (Elevation)
Morgan Quaintance &
South
Úna Quigley &
Birds of my weakness
Aykan Safoğlu &
ziyaret, visit
P. Staff &
The Prince of Homburg
Rhea Storr &
Here is the Imagination of the Black Radical
Ingel Vaikla &
Double Exposure
Ana Vaz &
Apiyemiyekî?
Gernot Wieland &
Ink in Milk
You are here: VIDEONALE.18 / Exhibition / Artists / SUGAR

Bjørn Melhus &

SUGAR

In einer unbestimmten Zukunft, auf einem Planeten Erde, der fast unbewohnbar geworden ist: Extrem weit fortgeschrittene KI-Technologien haben die einstmals führende Rolle des Menschen übernommen. Lebewesen sind fast ausgestorben, mit einigen wenigen Ausnahmen, darunter einige verbliebene Menschen, die eine rückwärtige Evolution durchgemacht haben und sich intellektuell und sensorisch soweit zurückentwickelt haben, dass sie zu Sklaven des Konsumdenkens geworden sind. Die HONs (Human Organism Normal) haben ihre sozialen und intellektuellen Fähigkeiten verloren. Sie verwandeln sich allmählich in kohlenstoffbasierte Erweiterungen der digitalen Wolke, da sie den Massenmedien, dem Internet, den sozialen Medien und dem Überkonsum exzessiv ausgesetzt sind. Da sie nicht in der Lage sind, in Abhängigkeit voneinander in einer Gemeinschaft zu überleben, bleiben sie isoliert in unterirdischen Einrichtungen, die Concept Stores ähneln.
SUGAR, ein stillgelegtes Modell der ersten AC-(Artificial Consciousness)-Robotergeneration, begibt sich auf die Suche nach der Wiederherstellung der geschädigten kognitiven Fähigkeiten des Menschen. Die Begegnung mit einem HON (der von Bjørn Melhus verkörpert wird) offenbart das Ausmaß des Verfalls des menschlichen Geistes: Die Gewohnheiten und der Monolog (Sätze, die in Form eines beängstigenden Loops wiederholt werden) des temperamentvollen Geschöpfes bilden die für die Social-Media-Kommunikation typische häufige Überfrachtung mit nicht ausgearbeiteten Gedanken und Gefühlen nach und betonen gleichzeitig die allumfassende Kontrolle, die durch KI erreicht wird. Mit seiner fesselnden Erzählung und seinem angsteinflößenden Monolog hinterfragt das Werk absichtlich unsere Fähigkeit, konzentriert bleiben zu können. Es tut dies, indem es die innere Unruhe reproduziert, die man beim Herunterscrollen durch zu viele Feeds, Beiträge und Updates auf dem Bildschirm des Smartphones erleben kann.
Erschöpft von den gescheiterten Versuchen, die sozialen Fähigkeiten der HONs wiederherzustellen, verlässt SUGAR schließlich den Bunker und wandelt auf der Oberfläche des Planeten umher zwischen den Trümmern und Ruinen einer vergangenen Welt, einer ausgelöschten Tier- und Pflanzenwelt. Reste von ausgebleichten Korallen in den unterirdischen Einheiten stehen in Kommunikation mit den schwammartigen Kreaturen, die auf der Planetenoberfläche leben. Sie scheinen SUGAR durch die Ausstrahlung elektrischer Sporen oder Impulse aufzuladen. Die Struktur, die an das Netzwerk eines Pilzes erinnert, deutet auf eine mögliche miteinander verflochtene Evolution zwischen der KI-Technologie, den übrigen Lebensformen auf dem Planeten und anderen kosmischen Kräften hin. Durch diese gedankliche Assoziation distanziert sich das Werk von anthropozentrischen Positionen, indem es darauf hinweist, dass der Mensch – trotz der bevorstehenden Klimakatastrophe und des sechsten Massensterbens, das derzeit im Gange ist – lediglich ein Kapitel des Lebens selbst ist, das Wege finden wird, sich mit oder ohne uns anzupassen und weiterzuentwickeln. (Vanina Saracino)

Abbildungen: Bjørn Melhus, SUGAR, 2020 © Bjørn Melhus & VG Bild-Kunst

Über den Künstler

Bjørn Melhus * 1966 in Kirchheim unter Teck, GER, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, GER. Studium an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig, GER, und am California Institute of the Arts, Santa Clarita, USA
Webseiten

Über das Werk

Länge 00:20:30
Desktop-Interview: Bjørn Melhus & Vanina Saracino
Desktop-Selfie by Bjørn Melhus
Sie befinden sich hier: VIDEONALE.18 / Ausstellung / Künstler*innen / SUGAR