VIDEONALE.18

FESTIVAL FOR VIDEO AND TIME-BASED ARTS
FLUID STATES. SOLID MATTER

Exhibition: March 4 – April 18, 2021 at Kunstmuseum Bonn
Festival days: March 4 – 6, 2021
Opening and Award Ceremony: March 3, 2021, 4 - 10 pm

The themes addressed by the previous Videonale editions, “The Call of the Wild” VIDEONALE.15, “PERFORM!” VIDEONALE.16 and “Refracted Realities” VIDEONALE.17, reflected egocentric and escapist phenomena in society. In which direction do we continue thinking from here? With 31 works selected from around 1,900 submissions, the VIDEONALE.18 entitled “Fluid States. Solid Matter” opens up a space of reference for reflecting on a changing world in which social, political, economic and ecological interrelations are reassessed and orders are newly constituted in complex dynamics.

On what basis do we live, think and act today? And how are we shaping this basis for the future? Common Western anthropocentric concepts that have been applied to large parts of the remaining world over the course of history – from human rights via the notion of private property to the founding of nation states – are based on the assumption of a sovereign individual, a fixed and autonomous body with distinct contours and clear boundaries to its environment. But how does this body, our perception of it and thus its positioning in the world, change when we conceive it as a fluid body engaged in a constant exchange with other bodies and its human, natural and more-than-human surroundings? This idea of “Bodies of Water” (Astrida Neimanis) not only liquefies our conception of a clear separation between humans and nature, it also upends many other hitherto valid hierarchies and boundaries, providing space for thinking about new, more complex reference systems in which we move about together with our bodies.

If we accept this as the basis for a future form of coexistence, how does that alter our perception of the other? What new possibilities of social, political, ecological, and economic cooperation would then be conceivable? Often based on very concrete places, things or autobiographical constellations, the 31 positions of the VIDEONALE.18 consider how liquefying firm constellations – solid matter – to fluid states – new, more permeable conditions – can have an effect on our being-in-the world. With their models and thoughts, they show that the shaping of future utopias is made possible not by exclusion and demarcation, but by forging new alliances and solidarities.

In response to the artistic positions, the VIDEONALE.18 creates fluid spaces in the exhibition as well as in the festival program and the six-week supporting program, making them a forum for exchange and dialog with talks, presentations, workshops, performances, and participatory formats. To this end, we will broadcast live and in color from the Kunstmuseum Bonn, embedded in an exhibition architecture that spatially stages the idea of “Fluid States. Solid Matter.”

Artists VIDEONALE.18:
Paula Ábalos, Tekla Aslanishvili, Eliane Esther Bots, Viktor Brim, Adam Castle, Eli Cortiñas, Emily Vey Duke & Cooper Battersby, Mouaad el Salem, Mahdi Fleifel, Ellie Ga, Beatrice Gibson, Russel Hlongwane, Heidrun Holzfeind, Che-Yu Hsu, Sohrab Hura, Ida Kammerloch, Michelle-Marie Letelier, Dana Levy, Anne Linke, Lukas Marxt & Michael Petri, Bjørn Melhus, Ana María Millán, Michael Klein & Sasha Pirker, Morgan Quaintance, Úna Quigley, Aykan Safoğlu, P. Staff, Rhea Storr, Ingel Vaikla, Ana Vaz, Gernot Wieland

You are here: VIDEONALE.18 / Exhibition / About the exhibition

VIDEONALE.18

FESTIVAL FÜR VIDEO UND ZEITBASIERTE KUNSTFORMEN
FLUID STATES. SOLID MATTER

Ausstellung: 4. März bis 18. April 2021 im Kunstmuseum Bonn
Eröffnung und Preisverleihung: 3. März 2021, 16 - 22 Uhr

Die Themensetzungen vergangener Videonale-Ausgaben spiegelten mit „The Call of the Wild“ VIDEONALE.15, „PERFORM!“ VIDEONALE.16 und „Refracted Realities“ VIDEONALE.17 Gesellschaft in ihren egozentrisch eskapistischen Phänomenen. Wohin denken wir von hier aus weiter? Unter dem Titel „Fluid States. Solid Matter“ öffnet die VIDEONALE.18 mit 31 aus rund 1.900 Einsendungen ausgewählten Werken einen Referenzraum für ein Nachdenken über eine sich verändernde Welt, in der soziale, politische, ökonomische und ökologische Zusammenhänge neu bewertet werden und Ordnungen sich in komplexen Dynamiken neu konstituieren.

Auf welcher Grundlage leben, denken und handeln wir heute? Und wie gestalten wir eine Grundlage für die Zukunft? Gängige westliche anthropozentrische und im Lauf der Geschichte auf weite Teile der restlichen Welt übertragene Konzepte − von den Menschenrechten über die Idee des Eigentums bis hin zur Begründung von Nationalstaaten – gründen sich auf der Annahme eines souveränen Individuums, eines festen und autonomen Körpers, mit klarer Kontur und klarer Abgrenzung zu seiner Umwelt. Aber wie wandelt sich dieser Körper, unsere Wahrnehmung desselben und damit seine Platzierung in der Welt, wenn wir ihn als fluiden Körper denken, der im ständigen Austausch mit anderen Körpern und mit seiner menschlichen, natürlichen und mehr-als-menschlichen Umgebung steht. Die Idee der „Bodies of Water“ (Astrida Neimanis) verflüssigt nicht nur die Idee einer klaren Trennbarkeit von Mensch und Natur, sondern weicht auch viele andere bislang gültige Hierarchien und Grenzziehungen auf und gibt Raum für das Nachdenken über neue komplexere Bezugssysteme, in denen wir uns gemeinsam mit unseren Körpern bewegen.

Wenn wir diesen Zustand des Fluiden als Grundlage für ein zukünftiges Zusammenleben annehmen, welche neuen Formen der sozialen, politischen, ökologischen und ökonomischen Ordnung sind dann denkbar? Ausgehend von oft sehr konkreten Orten, Dingen oder autobiografischen Konstellationen stellen die 31 Positionen der VIDEONALE.18 Überlegungen an, wie sich die Verflüssigung festgefügter Konstellationen – solid matter – in fluid states – neue durchlässigere Zustände – auf unser In-der-Welt-sein auswirken könnte. Mit ihren Modellen und Gedanken zeigen sie auf, dass die Gestaltung von Zukunftsutopien nicht durch Ausschluss und Abgrenzung, sondern durch das Schmieden neuer Allianzen und Solidaritäten möglich wird.

In Resonanz auf die künstlerischen Positionen formt die VIDEONALE.18 fluide Räume in der Ausstellung sowie dem Festival- und 6-wöchigen Begleitprogramm und gestaltet sie mit Gesprächen, Präsentationen, Workshops, Performances und partizipativen Formaten zu einem Forum von Austausch und Dialog. Dafür senden wir live und in Farbe aus dem Kunstmuseum Bonn, umfasst von einer Ausstellungsarchitektur, die die Idee von „Fluid States. Solid Matter“ im Raum inszeniert.

Künstler*innen VIDEONALE.18:
Paula Ábalos, Tekla Aslanishvili, Eliane Esther Bots, Viktor Brim, Adam Castle, Eli Cortiñas, Emily Vey Duke & Cooper Battersby, Mouaad el Salem, Mahdi Fleifel, Ellie Ga, Beatrice Gibson, Russel Hlongwane, Heidrun Holzfeind, Che-Yu Hsu, Sohrab Hura, Ida Kammerloch, Michelle-Marie Letelier, Dana Levy, Anne Linke, Lukas Marxt & Michael Petri, Bjørn Melhus, Ana María Millán, Michael Klein & Sasha Pirker, Morgan Quaintance, Úna Quigley, Aykan Safoğlu, P. Staff, Rhea Storr, Ingel Vaikla, Ana Vaz, Gernot Wieland
Zu den Künstler*innen

Sie befinden sich hier: VIDEONALE.18 / Ausstellung / Über die Ausstellung